Freya Deco and fashion colors

The Freya Deco is one of my favorite bras, and thankfully for us all, it comes in many many fashion colors.  I assume they called fashion colors because some colors are ‘in’ during certain years/seasons?  Currently I see Charcoal, Lupin, Ocean, and Red.  I own a Pomegranate one from before I lost weight, so it fails to fit (34F, perhaps I should attempt bra surgery?), as well as a Pistachio one that’s 32FF.  Admittedly, I like this ‘fashion color’ policy because when said colors are going out of fashion, they’re often on sale.  60USD is not chump change.

However, there’s something odd with different colors, and that’s sizing.  My Pistachio 32FF has a band that is way too tight.  I can fasten it, but after four hours it’s brutal.  By contrast, I have a 32G in black and the band is quite loose.  The pistachio bra’s band is 67.5cm, and stretches to 86.  The black one is 73cm and stretches to 89.  I bought the black one off eBay supposedly new, but I assume it was from a store and tried on a bunch.  The kicker is that by now the pistachio one isn’t new, I’ve owned and worn it for a few months.  Interestingly, the Taylor, which I also have in 32G has the same cut (comes up smaller in the cup) has a band that starts at 71cm and stretches to 85.  My ribcage measurement is is around 79.  So the green model, or at least this one unless it was somehow misfiled, has a much tighter band.

Why do fashion colors size differently than the continuity ones?  I don’t understand fashion…I guess if I can find Decos in color during the season I can try them on at Nordstrom and figure out which ones will work?  Unfortunately Bratabase doesn’t yet file by color, although lovely people do note it in their reviews.  What are your experiences?

4 thoughts on “Freya Deco and fashion colors

      • I’m not 100% sure how it works in the fashion industry, but they might have to buy different fabrics made by different companies to get the other colours. The fabrics could be “the same”, but just different enough to have different elasticities.

        Ah, liberal arts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

