Between band sizes? Looking for stability.

My underbust measurement is between 30.5  and 31 inches depending on how tightly I do the tape up.  I’ve lost a kilo or so in the past three months, and my three Panache Porcelain bras are now all going on the tightest hook after two hours (bra stretches during the day), and they are about a half year old.  The newer black Deco (32)  is stretching out pretty fast, so I’m not sure how long it will last with my current measurements.  I guess I could try putting on a few pounds, but there’s no guarantee they would go to the underbust.  My 32 Curvy Kate is also stretching out a bunch after less frequent wear over five months.

Anyway, time to go shopping again!  I’m still not sure I could size down to a 32 in the Rhea, but it seems a bit late since I can no longer find a mulberry one in 32G online.  I’ve ordered a Deco in 30GG to test that, but I will probably need to buy an extender for the first few weeks.  In the past year I’ve learned a lot- I’ve found Freya bands are a bit looser than Panache, and my shape isn’t quite round enough for many Freyas/Fantasies, nor wide and shallow enough for most Curvy Kates.    I can fit into a non-molded bra, but greatly prefer shapes generally given by them.

To review: Panache Geneva bikini, Curvy Kate Emily, Freya Deco in several sizes once I get the 30, Curvy Kate Tempt Me, Freya Mystere bikini set once I actually wear it.

To finally get my hands on: Masquerade Delphi, Affinitas Charlotte and Jeanie.  I know the Charlotte comes up tight and small, but would a 34G be too loose?

What bands have you found to be most stable?  I hear good things about Ewa Michalak but am leery of the sizing/return issues.  On the other hand, I just moved and rent is several hundred dollars lower a month…but I need to pay off moving costs!

3 thoughts on “Between band sizes? Looking for stability.

  1. I may be able to help with the Affinitas bras. My 30 band Charlotte measures 26″ stretched. A friend of mine (also on Bratabase) wears a 32 in Charlotte, a 30 in Jeanie/Casey, and a 28 in the Deco. The Charlotte comes up 1 bandsize small and 1/2 to 1 cupsize small depending on how full you are. Similar to the Rhea in the band, opposite in the cup. My old 30G Charlotte is like a 26GG where the Rhea is like a 26J.
    The rest of their range can come up small if they are padded, the unpadded are a little more reliable. I have an unpadded Anna in 32G that I have not added to Bratabase if you’d like measurements. I got it as a pregnancy bra that doesn’t even come close so I’ve been lazy about adding it.

    • I wear a 32 or 30 Deco, not sure yet, and I ordered a 34G in the Charlotte. I’m not sure that will properly contain anything (a 34FF Rhea works right now but sits a bit low on me) but it’s worth a shot, as there isn’t anywhere nearby that carries Affinitas. I ordered the Jeanie in a 32G which is my most common size. Thank you much for your input!

Leave a Reply

