Curvy Kate Emily, nine months later

I’m now going through and adding commentary on bras I’ve reviewed before (in between posting reviews of newer bras, I’ve been on vacation!). When we review a bra, it’s usually new or after we’ve had it for a bit, and I thought I should go and review how my bras have stood the test of wears and washes.

The Curvy Kate Emily was my first mesh bra, and I got it from Brastop at a very nice price (fifteen pounds sterling which came out to $24 at the time), but I ordered the wrong size, which I realized after two wears. When I’d put on the bra initially, I would adjust myself according to scoop-and-set instructions, and I’d be fully contained. Two hours later, though, I’d get two kinds of quad-boob- the bulging out of the top that I think most of us have experienced at least once, and the seam of the cup cutting into my breasts. I ordered a cup size up from eBay for about $35, in 32G, and solved the first issue.

As it aged: The band stretched out pretty fast and didn’t really bounce back. However, since I didn’t wear it that often due to the reasons above I think I’ve some more months of use out of it.

What I’ve liked: The color is orangey red with orange and dark pink details, fun and bright! The band is continuous around the front so feels pretty stable. Furthermore, the construction of the seam, across the cup and up to the strap gives support. Does not show up under clothes as much as I feared.

What I’ve disliked: I still run into the problem where my breast tissue is soft enough that the seam across the bra cuts into it. Although the bra is supportive, I’m not a fan of the shape it gives me- my breasts point at four and eight o’clock (how’s that for a visual!). The cups are wide and shallow, so sometimes it looks like the root of my breasts is very wide and they look quite separated.

Repurchasing: This colorway isn’t made anymore, so that pro is unfortunately out. I doubt I’ll buy another seamed bra in the near future, since I haven’t found a shape I like yet. Curvy Kate underwires are wider and shallower than my breasts are, so it may not be the best brand for me.

3 thoughts on “Curvy Kate Emily, nine months later

Leave a Reply

