Panache Confetti

This bra was discontinued years ago, but pops up a lot on EBay.  I was first alerted to its shaping qualities by Bras I Hate and Love, but I didn’t know if it would work with my shallow profile (she is full on top). I am not sure why it is called Confetti- the embroidery is floral and scrollwork.  I saw it on super sale at Breakout Bras, so ordered it in black.

Construction:

This is a mesh bra with a bias cut, balcony style. That means a three-part cup where there’s a seam that goes from the gore to the strap on the top of the cup on the opposite side of the cup, forming a U shape across one’s entire chest (as opposed to an M shape formed by many full-cup bras, in which the seam goes from four o’clock to eight o’clock on each cup).  The tops of the cup are sheer, and the bottom are reinforced with heavier fabric. The cups are wider and shallower than the Freya mesh bras I’ve tried, but not so much as the Curvy Kate Emily. The gore doesn’t come up very high on me, and feels on the wide side. Three hooks on the band, which makes everything feel nice and supported.

Fit:

The advice on the site was to go down a band size if you’re at all in between and up a cup, so I ordered a 30GG instead of a 32G. This was correct for me- the band is quite quite stretchy. The cup is one of the best fits I’ve gotten in a fabric bra! I need to readjust after six hours, but I tend to overspill after several hours in every cut-sew bra I’ve tried.
Confetti has another potential fit issue- The underwires are long and wide and can poke you in the armpits if you’re petite, shorter-torsoed, or have higher-set breasts.  You can try bending the wires if you love the bra otherwise and don’t want to return it (there’s some risk here, I don’t know of any bras that break when you do this, but it’s always a possibility).

Looks:

This is the roundest non-projecting shape I think I could ever get in a mesh bra, and for that I adore it. I think the bow at the gore is a bit big, but that’s easily remedied. The embroidery is floral and scrolly, but manages to look sophisticated and not very girly. The straps on the black version have a gold-toned adjuster, which seems a bit random in that the hooks are black.

Verdict:

This is replacing my stretched-out Emily in my drawer as my single cut-sew bra. The fabric is amazingly soft for the job it does, even the embroidery! It’s versatile and elegant and gives an amazing shape- a shame Panache discontinued it! Do you know of any bras anyone makes now that fit and shape similarly?

One thought on “Panache Confetti

Leave a Reply

