Panache Spring/Summer 2013

Some liked the Curvy Kate roundup for this season, so I’ll do another one for the Panache brands. I think Panache is really my go-to brand: I own a Sport, Confetti, Porcelain Plunge, adore the regular Porcelains, and have two Masquerade bras. I’ve also heard great things about Cleo but I’ve never found one that I’ve fit/loved. Panache haven’t put their Spring/Summer collection on their site yet, so I’m going from some other sources to detail what’s new.

Here’s what I found of interest:

Cleo

Generally fun, more ‘youthful’ designs, tend to give a round and in front shape.

Marcie– Marcie’s been a hit with some and a disaster with others. I tried the Natasha which apparently has the same cut in my size and there was so much wrinkling at the top of the cup it was ridiculous. The shape it gives is apparently wonderfully round, so it’s returning for another season in a jolting color! I wonder if sizing down would help, or if it’s just not meant for bottom-heavy breasts. That shade of blue is nice and aggressive- electric with the contrast pink bow! I am happy that it goes up to J.

Maddie– I rather liked the Cleo Karen, but it was too small for me and was unavailable beyond a G. Apparently they’re offering up to an H cup now? I’m not too hot on the print, which I think is overly busy, nor the pink contrast, but I’d love to try the cut in another size- it apparently works well for bottom-heavy breasts. If it works I’ll keep an eye out for future designs.

Nina- I remember trying the Arianna and being unable to fill out the top, or the bra running big. This is an in-your-face pink with purple detailing, evocative of sharp angles- Motorola RAZR pink, but more matte? I like the geometry, but I’m not confident I’d fit in it well.

Panache Superbra

The base collection as I think of it, Panache offers great basics including the beloved Tango, Andorra, and Porcelain.

Fern– I adore purple paisley. I would be all over this if it weren’t for the blasted pink lace on it! It may go well with the gentle purple, but I really dislike any non hot-pink color on my skin. If it were the pink in the Nina, I’d consider it. That said, paisley trend = yes please. I wonder how much of the pink lace is structural- would I be able to remove it? That might ruin the line at the top of the cup.

Andorra Plunge– This model only comes in fashion colors, this time Carribean blue. I am curious as to how the stretch lace works in a plunge bra and if it accomplishes the same forward projection the Andorra and Jasmine are famous for.

Porcelain Viva– I don’t see many white and navy bras out there, and with the stripes, it’s very smart and nautical. There’s also a pink variant. If we changed the darker blue details into white pinstripes I think it would make an excellent swimsuit.

Idina balcony/plunge- These supposedly have similar stretch lace to the Andorra/Jasmine. Are they a new continuity line? They are starting with basic colors- latte and black. I’ll be curious to hear about the shape they give.

I don’t see the Sienna available, but it seems those mainly come out in the fall?

Sculptresse

Panache’s new line starts at a 3t band. Lots of full coverage bras with lots of lace. They’re not to my taste, but very pinup. Here’s my favorite:

Belisse: Fun floral print! The yellow and red really pop!

 

Masquerade

My favorite brand for any day I want to feel a little special.

Amor in dark pink or berry or whatnot. I missed the sapphire version because I was afraid it would fit like the Capella. Maybe I should try sizing down in the cup? Sleek design, not a geometry I’ve seen before.

Arquette Navy/Vanilla. Based on the Delphi shape, apparently, though I will miss the Delphi. The blue overlay seems a bit heavy somehow.

Antoinette is back! Masquerade discontinued this line before I knew of Panache, and they’re reintroducing it in this color. Interesting bandeau design (usually works better for full profiles), dark pink lace overlay. I guess this is also ‘berry’. The vertical seams remind me of corsetry.

Fashion notes/roundup:

Great googly moogly, the pink. It’s spring, I get it, time for gentler colors, but augh. This much pink hurts my retinas. Great for those who like it, but I keep thinking about bags of conversation hearts. You know, those things what taste like Necco wafers with drippy commands on them with a texture somewhere between cheese puffs and styrofoam but you eat a bunch of anyway every year for some compelling yet unknown reason? Whoops, I’m projecting. (And now I want some!) Anyway, my pink must be done in limited doses. For those of you who like it, it’s a bonanza this season!

Panache is not shy with its lace, but I don’t think it ever was. I’ll be curious to try the Amor and figure out the fit of several of these. What attracts you in the Spring/Summer lines? Anything you’re putting on your wish lists or want to figure out the fit of?

3 thoughts on “Panache Spring/Summer 2013

  1. Eek, pinkfest! I always love the lesser explored options of bright yellow, green, orange… and so have a yellow Cleo Lucy and looking forward to the Emerald-green Deco Honey! (which may await a AW13 release) 😉

    • Yes, I’d love more yellow and orange. I’ve wanted a Claudette Dessous Sucre in orange for a while, but I’d need a 30 or 32GG, which is not an available size. I loved the color of the yellow Lucy but the bra felt pretty flimsy on me- even a 30 band felt stretchy.
      The Fauve Bronte is a beautiful orange, but bloody expensive and I’m not sure how well Fauve would fit me- apparently they also run a bit small and are not great for shallow soft profiles?

      • Wow, yes I too am anxiously awaiting dropping a pretty penny on the Bronte longline half cup if a 30g. It’s always worth a try, right? I think it’d be worth it as my first Fauve, definitely a memorable one.

        Have you seen the Bravissimo exclusive Cleo Meg in a crazy geometrical Coral print? Hot dang it’s so weird it has to be mine.

        I’m also thinking it’s time to venture into Bravissimo’s own bras and try the Alana in a bright Lime color. If the Cleo Lucy didn’t work for you maybe this one will? 🙂

Leave a Reply

