Ewa Michalak CH Onyx review

I originally bought the CH Purple in 32GG from EM’s online store, and it came up way too large on me in the cup (the band fit well, though). A shame, since it was a beautiful bra- smart striping and sleek detailing. I tried a size down with the CH Onyx (32G) from a Bratabase user. I’m reviewing it after only trying it on because of immediate fit issues (and that I may resell it).

Construction:

The CH cut maximizes projection. The breasts are pushed forward and not very far up (contrasted with the HP, which gives less projection because it pushes the cups up). The side profile is pretty dramatic. They achieve this with a vertically-seamed half cup. The two seams are relatively close to the center gore in the bra I had (as opposed to the HP and CHP styles I tried). This is technically a multiway- the straps are detachable. There are actually two sets of straps: the padded partially adjustable comfort straps, and the fully adjustable standard ones. A rather useful feature!

ch onyx wing

The band in the back becomes quite thin, a radical difference from the wings of the bra. I haven’t seen a construction like this before and wonder why they don’t keep a taller band all the way around for support.

Fit:

The band seems pretty stretchy and I’m not sure how this would work with extended wear- maybe order a band size down if you’re between them? However, the cups are very full and I think I need to size down. Either that or it’s not a good bra for bottom-heavy soft breasts despite June’s findings. The cups gape a little at the top with the pads in the bra, and a bunch without them in. So if you’re bottom heavy, try ordering one cup size smaller to see if the shape can work for you.

Looks:

Glamorous shiny black cup edging on matte black fabric.  Seams are clearly delineated. Instead of the traditional bow, Ewa Michalak opted for two shiny black buttons down the front of the gore. Very classy! It looks great on from the side, but with some gaping even with the pads in I shouldn’t keep it.

Even though I feel like a dame with legs that won’t quit with this style, I’m relisting this exquisite bra because it’s just a bit too big or I have an incompatible shape. I may order a size down next time I order a CH (although I think EM is phasing the cut out in newer models). I adore the comfort straps- they’re pretty enough to show off!

Leave a Reply

