almost upsizes, and Jockey’s new venture

Since I tried to eat a good portion of Boston before I left and I’m adjusting to Seattle, I’ve gained some weight- just enough to make two thirds of my bras not fit. I think I’ll settle back down in a few months, but for now I’m going to wear bras that tend towards the big side: Masquerade Amor, Panache Sport, and my EM CH Onyx. I rotate in the Porcelain and the black Deco sometimes, but I should really keep on wearing the larger ones to be sufficiently supported so I can run for the bus. I ordered a bigger bra to help tide me over (Cleo Marcie 32GG), but it was definitely too large in the cup.

I’ve been thinking about which bras I feel most stable in, and the results puzzle me slightly. For some reason my Ewa Michalak bras don’t support the top and I feel rather wobbly. Not sure if that’s a size or style question (this is true in my CH and CHP styles, I don’t remember having this issue in the too-small PL I tried).

It seems I need underwires that come up high under my arms and the cup to encompass the front well. Plunge bras actually work well for this because they have to anchor somehow! I have trouble filling out actual full coverage cups. I haven’t had the best of luck with Cleo’s nor Freya’s wires on the side (I get escapee breast) for most bras.

Meanwhile, Jockey International has decided to try a new bra fitting technique with new sizing! Apparently they ship you some plastic cups in different shapes and you stick your breasts in and see what works best (cups are numbered 1-10, instead of given letters). You then measure around your rib cage and send in that measurement. I’m a bit leery of it working at larger sizes, since an H seems to correspond to a 9. In either case, it’s $20 to try it, and then you get a voucher for $20 off a bra. The bras offered aren’t especially interesting, but I do want to applaud and support Jockey for trying something new (and taking away the weird psychological hangups one can have with cup letters). I’d have to go to Tulalip to get fitted in store, so I’ll debate between that and ordering online.

Any of you heard about or tried Jockey’s new bra fitting kit/methodology? I’d love to know your thoughts!

One thought on “almost upsizes, and Jockey’s new venture

  1. I think the Jockey sizing method sounds interesting, especially if it takes shape into account, as well as volume (as the video alluded). I’d give it a try.

Leave a Reply

