one way to blog

I started blogging over eighteen months ago when the blog-o-verse started cropping up with wonderful content for DD+ ladies, and I am continuously impressed with the quality of many other blogs that have popped up. At first I blogged pretty sporadically, not sure what I wanted to say, just getting fit/engineering data out there. Bras I Hate and Love seemed to have a better handle on the engineering of seams and I hate drawing. I resolve to overcome that as I try to learn more about the science of bras. Bratabase also gained lots of traction and I wasn’t sure what I had to offer on this blog that wasn’t there! In the end I decided to post reviews here and link them from Bratabase. Not everyone browses bratabase, and this blog provides RSS and is search-engine friendly.

I’m lucky that I’ve had the time to keep blogging and to read other blogs. I may be posting a bunch less once I move for a while, as a new job and move can be tiring. Lots of blogs have dropped off in posting frequency due to life events or just wanting to go in a different direction. I want to keep blogging decently often, but at the same time I don’t want to pressure myself about this and make posting an onerous duty.

Why do I blog?

Blogging’s not a ‘job’ for many bloggers. I don’t have a business I’m partnered with or anything. For some, blogging is advocacy. Body acceptance, size range expansion, proper fitting evangelism, you go ladies! For me, it’s trying to provide a service for free about a subject I’m extremely interested in. It’s a pleasure to codify my data and get it out to people who may benefit. I hope someone’s been helped. Blogging is also my practice in writing concisely (that’s an in-progress struggle).

It might be more useful if I posted photos of bras on me so you all could get an idea of fit issues. Unfortunately with my career I’m still a bit worried about the photos intersecting with my day job. That’s why I also use a pen name. I keep reconsidering my photo-paranoia. If you blog, do you have a job where photos of you (even without the face) on an underwear blog could be problematic if your boss or coworkers knew?

Should you blog?

If you want to! Do so because you love to write, or have a passion for the subject, or things to say with your own voice. Don’t feel intimidated and don’t let perfectionism freeze you. I’m no trained writer myself, but I can still fulfill my goals here with sometimes-sloppy writing. I think the more the merrier!

Best reason not to blog? You don’t feel like it or don’t have the time. I find blogging is a big time commitment. If you’re not comfortable writing a whole lot but have something to say, you can do a guest post. I don’t know protocols on that for most blogs, but if anyone wants to do a guest post here, please let me know and we can try to arrange something.

What have I learned?

Blog visitors grow geometrically. I now have a lot of backdated content that people still visit (Curvy Kate Emily, Freya Deco, Masquerade Capella), so my blog visits per day have gone up over time.

The blog-o-verse, while may we have our differences of opinion in fitting or fashion, is an amazingly supportive (hah!) group of ladies.

 

One more personal note:

I live near Boston and our area is currently under lockdown. It’s simple and quiet. I am fine, but my roommate’s friend was killed last night at MIT. I canceled my dinner plans, but everyone seems pretty calm.

One thought on “one way to blog

Leave a Reply

